ALS PCP webinars with PCM Experts

We organise PCP related webinars to allow live technical exchanges with your teams; a good opportunity to keep the link even when we cannot easily see each other face-to-face. Stay tuned for future agendas. You can easily register to the next webinars. You can also review past webinars recorded.

PCP’s are easy and reliable to operate and it is why it makes them so popular. Our Webinars are designed to address practical topics around the design and operation of PCP’s.

All our webinars include a valuable live Q&A from participants worldwide, contributing to a two-way knowledge sharing among the PCP community. 

  NEXT WEBINAR SESSION in SEPTEMBER: register now! 💻 PCP ROTOR SIZING discussion

Progressing cavity pumps are an excellent form of artificial lift (AL) in many applications.  While they technically out-perform other AL systems in certain applications (for example pumping very viscous fluids or fluids with high solids content), they can have better economics than other AL systems in a wide range of applications.  However, good economic results depend on good pump performance and run-life.  One thing that makes PCPs different from other AL systems is the elastomer, and the interference fit between the rotor and stator.  Elastomers behave differently from steel, and in particular, they can expand due to both chemical and thermal effects.  This expansion affects the fit between the rotor and stator.  Getting the fit right in consideration of this expansion is important in achieving both good performance and good run-life.

In this webinar, we will discuss the importance of rotor sizing, how rotor sizes are selected, and what the effects of different rotor sizing can be.    We will look at how PCM selects rotor sizes, as well as other methods that are used.  We will also look at how elastomer pump and rotor geometry affect rotor sizing.

We will go beyond theory and look at operational aspects to provide some advice and recommendations on selecting, operating, and optimizing  pumps both in new and existing applications.

The webinar will be presented in English by Paul Skoczylas, and by Wilmer Romero and Miguel Ruiz for the session in Spanish.  Paul will also attend the Spanish session to participate in the Q&A session.


We will be presenting the webinar twice in English and once in Spanish. Please register for the session corresponding to your time zone and language. Attendance is free—please register below.

  • Session #1 in English: Wednesday 29th September @ 5:00 pm France / 9:00 am Calgary / 10:00 am Houston / 10:00 am Bogota / 11:00 am Caracas / 12 noon Buenos Aires / 4:00 pm Congo, Gabon, DRC /5:00 pm East Africa

 Click to register
 

  • Session #2 in English: Thursday 30th September @ 8:00 am France / 7:00 am Congo, Gabon, DRC / 8:00 am East Africa / 10.00 am Oman & Dubai / 11:30 am India / 2.00 pm China / 4.00pm Brisbane

 Click to register
 

  • Session #3 in Spanish: Thursday 7th October @ 5:00 pm France / 10:00 am Houston / 10:00 am Bogota / 11:00 am Caracas / 12 noon Buenos Aires

 Click to register

 PAST WEBINAR SESSIONS: catch up now!

 

We recorded for you our past webinars so that you can catch up with the sessions you missed ! You can access those sessions anytime you want without subscribing and as many times as you want.

 

💻 PCP GEOMETRY IN HIGH-SOLIDS APPLICATIONS - April 2021

Progressing cavity pumps are recognized as the best form of artificial lift in wells that produce solids.  However, when there are a lot of solids, it is important to select the best pump geometry for the application.

I this recorded webinar you will discover the different ways of considering the geometry of a PCP, and how the optimum geometry can help move solids through the pump. We will also consider methods of helping to keep solids moving at the pump intake and through the tubing.  

 Download the PDF

 Watch the recording


💻ALS PCP MYTHS & TRUTHS (PART #2)  - November 2020

Are you wondering about progressive cavity pumps features and use in the ALS market? You do not really know whether some information are true or false?

  1. Hole Angle:  A PCP cannot be run at 90°
  2. Efficiency:  A good PCP should have test bench efficiency of 60-80%
  3. Torque Anchor:  Every PCP system needs a torque anchor installed
  4. Choke:  Choking the tubing is a way to reduce free gas at the pump intake
  5. Installation:  When the rotor enters the stator during installation, the rig crew will see the rod string rotate
  6. High DLS:  When there is high dogleg severity, the use of pony rods and/or rod guides can help improve system run life

 Download the PDF

 Wach the recording


💻ALS PCP MYTHS & TRUTHS (PART #1) - September 2020

Are you wondering about progressive cavity pumps features and use in the ALS market? You do not really know whether some information are true or false?

  1. Space out: Need 1 ft space out for every 1000 ft of rod
  2. AMPCP: AMPCP cannot pump water
  3. Efficiency: Low volumetric efficiency while operating in the well is always bad
  4. Gas: PCPs do not gas lock
  5. Rod: No backspin after a stop = parted rod
  6. Light oil: PCP is not a good choice for pumping high API oil
  7. Explosive decompression: Slow STOP & POOH will reduce risk of explosive decompression

 Download the PDF

 Watch the recording


💻ROD STRING MAKE-UP - June 2020

Frequent Rod Failures? Find out simple tricks to eliminate 90% of those cases.

 Download the PDF

 Watch the recording


 

LET US KNOW WHICH TOPICS YOU WANT FOR OUR FUTURE WEBINARS

Are you eager to know more on a given topic we have not yet covered ? We will be pleased to consider your suggestion to propose you a technical webinar addressing exactly your expectations.

 Send your suggestions by clicking here